Pantheon has powerful workflow tools that are packed with real-time features that are great for people working in teams, and getting started is easy.
The Site Team generally consists of one Site Owner and any necessary Team Members. These roles have the following permissions:
|Access the site Dashboard||✓||✓|
|Work on the site via SFTP or Git||✓||✓|
|Connect to the site's database via MySQL||✓||✓|
|Clone Database/Files between all environments||✓||✓|
|Deploy changes to Test and Live||✓||✓|
|Access Pantheon Support||✓||✓|
|Enable New Relic||✓||✓|
|Add/remove team members||✓|
|Add/remove supporting organizations||✓|
|Add Solr or Redis||✓|
|Manage a site's plan||✓|
NoteFor Sites associated with an Organization, the Developers and Team-members from the Organization may manage Multidev Environments, while members of the Site Team will not be able to Create, Delete, or Merge commits from Multidevs.
You can add and delete users in the Team modal by clicking Team in the upper-right of your Site Dashboard.
In the Team modal, enter the email address of the user and click Add team member.
Once the user has been added to the project, they will receive a welcome email notifying them that they are now a member of the site's team. This will allow them to access the site's codebase, create backups, mark the site as private, clear your sites' caches, sync content, and perform updates.
Sometimes you need to invite a user to a team or project who does not have a Pantheon account. You can still add them to the project and they will be sent an email with an invite to become a team member on the site.
Once they have successfully created an account, they will be automatically added to the team. As an added bonus if the user signs up, you'll get an extra free Dev site!
NoteAll users can be removed except the site owner.
In the Team modal in the Site Dashboard, click the X next to the user you want to delete.
When you delete a user from a site, they lose the ability to perform any operations on that site.
Site ownership is assigned to the person who creates the site or pays for the site. The site owner cannot be removed from the site team.
This process will transfer ownership of the site immediately. The account paying for the site is automatically assigned the Site Owner role and will receive future invoices and billing notifications. Agencies maintain access by being associated as a Supporting Organization.
A transfer of ownership is the most common way non-agency developers and Registered Agencies (i.e., non-Partner Agencies) deliver completed sites to their clients. If you are a Partner Agency looking to ensure that your client receives Preferred Pricing, you should send an invitation to your client to pay for the site.
Single-site businesses can also use this method when site ownership needs to be transferred to someone else within the company. The invitation will guide the recipient through adding their payment method to the site for the designated plan.
We recommend communicating with the business owner well in advance of sending a transfer request. It's a good idea to have them notify you once they've upgraded so you can continue the going live procedure. Feel free to share the Site Owner FAQ guide with them.
- From the Pantheon Site Dashboard, click on the Billing tab.
- Click on Transfer Site. Enter the email address associated with the account you want to transfer site ownership to.
- Click Send Request. The recipient will need to confirm the transfer.
Resellers and Enterprise organizations should contact their Account Manager or create a Support ticket to request a transfer of ownership.
To change the owner of a paid site (e.g. Basic, or Performance), you'll need to update the billing information by clicking Invite a business owner to pay for this site within the Settings page of the Site Dashboard. Enter the email address for the new site owner. Once the new owner receives the invitation they will be directed to provide payment information, at which point they will assume ownership of the site and will receive future invoices.
Enterprise Organizations can use the same process to assume ownership of a site; however, Agency Partners do not have the ability to own sites directly.
The site owner is the person who pays for the site. You'll need to update the payment method to change the owner.
One of the best things about Pantheon is the ability to collaborate with agencies and shops on web projects. If you have contracted with a Pantheon Partner Agency, you can add them to the site as a Supporting Organization, which will give their company access to help build, launch, or maintain your site:
Because Supporting Organizations have full access to a site, only the site owner can perform this action.
From the Pantheon Site Dashboard, click Team in the upper-right corner.
At the bottom of the Manage Team window, click Add Supporting Organization:
Enter the agency's full name and click Search. The name must match exactly.
Once the agency has been located and confirmed to match the agency intended, click the Add button:
The agency will receive an email notification.