Manage Plans in the Site Dashboard

Upgrade a free site to a paid plan or downgrade a site's current plan within the Site Dashboard.

Contributors: Christopher Matthews.

Tweet

Changing your site plan is typically done at launch time. For a comprehensive step-by-step guide to going live, refer to Launch Essentials.

If your site benefits from Preferred Pricing, contact your Supporting Organization for assistance, in order to retain your special pricing rate.

Access Site Plan

  1. Go to the Site Dashboard.
  2. For Sandbox sites, click the Upgrade button: Upgrade plan button shown on Sandbox sites Otherwise, click the current plan: Change current plan for paid sites

 Note

Changing your site plan is typically done at launch time. For a comprehensive step-by-step guide to going live, refer to Launch Essentials.

Upgrades

Site plan upgrades will change your site's resources and access to features immediately. The associated card will be charged a prorated amount for the remainder of the current billing period.

If your site benefits from Preferred Pricing, contact your Supporting Organization for assistance, in order to retain your special pricing rate.

Downgrades

Site plan downgrades will change your site's resources and access to features immediately. Beginning on the next billing cycle, the associated card will be charged for the new site plan. No prorated refunds or credits will be issued for site downgrades.

If your site benefits from Preferred Pricing, contact your Supporting Organization for assistance, in order to retain your special pricing rate.

Roles & Permissions

The permission to manage a site's plan is granted only to the roles of Site Owner / Organization Administrator. Other roles do not have access to change the site plan as described on this page. For details, see Role-Based Permissions & Change Management.

 Note

If you need to assume site and billing ownership, the current Site Owner must transfer it to you directly.

Considerations

Consider the following changes to feature access before upgrading or downgrading the site's plan. Certain scenarios require code changes in order to safely change the site plan.

Sandbox

Custom domains are not available to Sandbox sites. Downgrading to a Sandbox site will automatically delete existing custom domains across all environments of the site. If you decide to return to a paid plan in the future, you will need to add the domains again.

Downgrading to a Sandbox site will disable automatic backups. You will still be able to create backups manually. For details, see Backups Tool.

Basic Plan

New Relic, Redis, and Solr are not available for Basic sites. These features must be disabled in order to select Basic as the new site plan when upgrading or downgrading plans.

For Redis and Solr, the following code changes are required before the feature can be safely disabled:

Safely Remove Redis

  1. Uninstall the WP Redis plugin.
  2. Delete the wp-content/object-cache.php file.
  3. Commit and deploy code changes to the Live environment.
  4. Go to Settings > Add Ons and click the Remove button for Redis.
  5. From the Site Dashboard, click on .

Safely Remove Solr

  1. Uninstall the Solr Search for WordPress plugin.
  2. Ensure the default search mechanism is functioning.
  3. Commit and deploy code changes to the Live environment.
  4. Go to Settings > Add Ons and click the Remove button for Solr.

Safely Remove Redis

  1. Disable the Redis module.
  2. Delete Redis configuration from settings.php.
  3. Commit and deploy code changes to the Live environment.
  4. Go to Settings > Add Ons and click the Remove button for Redis.
  5. From the Site Dashboard, click on .

Safely Remove Solr

  1. Disable the Search API Solr Search, Search API, and Pantheon Apache Solr modules.
  2. Delete all schema configurations from settings.php.
  3. Commit and deploy code changes to the Live environment.
  4. Go to Settings > Add Ons and click the Remove button for Solr.

Safely Remove Redis

  1. Disable the Redis module.
  2. Delete Redis configuration from settings.php.
  3. Commit and deploy code changes to the Live environment.
  4. Go to Settings > Add Ons and click the Remove button for Redis.
  5. From the Site Dashboard, click on .

Safely Remove Solr

  1. Disable the Apache Solr Search,Search API Solr Search, and the Pantheon Apache Solr modules.
  2. Delete all schema configurations from settings.php.
  3. Commit and deploy code changes to the Live environment.
  4. Go to Settings > Add Ons and click the Remove button for Solr.

Elite Plan

Elite sites cannot manage plans from the Site Dashboard. Contact our sales team or reach out to your dedicated Client Sales Executive for details.

Enterprise Organizations

Plan prices are not shown in the Site Dashboard, and you will not be prompted to enter billing information as described below.

If the site is associated with an Enterprise Flagship organization, additional Performance plans not shown in the Site Dashboard are available to purchase.

Contact our sales team or reach out to your dedicated Client Sales Executive for details.

Purchase a New Plan

This section covers purchasing a new plan. Review the previous section on feature availability before switching plans to Basic.

 Note

Did you know Pantheon offers savings for sites purchased with annual billing? See Pantheon Annual Billing for more information.

Select Plan

  1. Go to the Site Dashboard.

  2. For Sandbox sites, click the Upgrade button. Otherwise, select the label for the site's current plan.

  3. Click Select to switch plans:

    Select a different plan

Enter Billing Information

Site ownership is designated to the user account entering billing information.

If this is your first time taking a site live on Pantheon, you'll likely need to add a new card to your account:

  1. Click the Add New Card link.
  2. Enter the email address you would like invoices sent to.
  3. Enter your credit card information and click Add Card.
  4. Make sure the desired card is selected and click Continue.

To associate an existing card from your account as the payment method for this site:

  1. Select the desired card.
  2. Click Continue.

This is the most common way non-agency developers and Registered Agencies (i.e. non-Partner Agencies) deliver completed sites to their clients. If you are a Partner Agency looking to ensure that your client receives preferred pricing, you should instead send an invitation to your client to pay for the site.

Single-site businesses can also use this method when site ownership needs to be transferred to someone else within the company. The invitation will guide the recipient through adding their payment method to the site for the designated plan.

We recommend communicating with the business owner well in advance of sending a transfer request. It's a good idea to have them notify you once they've upgraded so you can continue the going live procedure. Feel free to share the Site Owner FAQ guide with them.

 Warning

This process will transfer ownership of the site. The account paying for the site is automatically assigned the Site Owner role. Agencies maintain access by being associated as a Supporting Organization.

  1. From the Pantheon Site Dashboard, click on the Billing tab.
  2. Click on Transfer Site. Enter the email address associated with the account you want to transfer site ownership to.
  3. Click Send Request. The recipient will need to confirm the transfer.

Resellers and Enterprise organizations should contact their Account Manager or create a Support ticket to request a transfer of ownership.

Confirm Your Purchase

  1. Make sure the Plan details are correct.
  2. Verify the card shown in Billing details.
  3. Click the Submit button.

The Site Owner will receive an email confirmation of this change, a new invoice will be issued, and a prorated amount for the current billing cycle will be credited or charged to the associated card automatically.

Invoices and transaction history related to this change can be found in Account > Billing.

Cancel Current Plan

Review the previous section on feature availability before downgrading to Sandbox.

 Note

While all site plans downgrades will be effective immediately, no partial refunds will be issued, per our terms of service.

  1. Go to the Site Dashboard.
  2. Select the current plan: Change current plan for paid sites
  3. Click the Downgrade to free link to cancel the current plan: Downgrade to free by cancelling current plan
  4. Check Yes, cancel my plan then click Continue: Confirm plan cancellation
  5. Make sure the change details are correct, then click Submit.
  6. Remove the existing card as a payment method for the site. For details, see Billing in the Site Dashboard.

Optionally, you can remove the Sandbox site after downgrading. For details, see Deleting a Site on Pantheon.

See Also