Professional Workspaces

Learn how to manage and use workspaces.

Contributors: Jennifer Hoffman.

Discuss in our Forum Discuss in Slack

Workspaces are a home base for your WebOps. There are two types of workspaces:

  • Personal Workspace: The personal workspace displays tools for the sites you own or are a team member of, your account tier, and billing for sites you own. You have only one personal workspace. We cover this workspace in the Accounts guide.

  • Professional Workspace: Professional workspaces bring together users, sites, tools, and support to allow administrators to effectively manage a large number of sites. You may be a part of no workspaces, or many workspaces, depending on your company setup.

Professional Workspace Features

Professional Workspace Tiers

Professional workspaces come in three tiers:

  • Silver Workspace: You will automatically be assigned a Silver Tier workspace. If the workspace is not for an agency,

  • Gold Workspace: Gold Tier workspaces provide additional collaboration tools such as Multidev and visual regression testing. Contact our Sales team for more information if you are interested in upgrading to a Gold workspace.

  • Partner Trial Tier Workspace: You will only be assigned a Partner Trial Tier workspace if you are creating the workspace for a web agency.

Create a Professional Workspace

You can create as many workspaces as necessary. The following process will create a Silver Tier Professional workspace.

  1. Select your gravatar in the upper left corner, then select Create New Workspace.

  2. Enter the information, upload a logo (optional), and click Continue.

  3. Invite team members or skip this step by clicking Continue.

Retrieve the Workspace UUID

Every entity (user, workspace, product, and site) is assigned a UUID which is internal to Pantheon. The UUID is found within the URL for the entity and resembles the following:

de305d54-75b4-431b-adb2-eb6b9e546014

You can also use Terminus to find the UUID of your workspaces:

terminus org:list

Platform Email Notifications

Platform Email Notifications

Pantheon platform email notifications are listed below. These notifications are non-configurable, and are generated by automated Pantheon monitoring or by user actions within the dashboard.

The emails listed below are received by all users, regardless of their assigned role. Refer to Roles and Permissions for more information.

  • New membership: a site admin-generated invitation to a user. The invited user is not required to have an account yet.

  • Password reset: a user-generated email sent after submitting a request on the login form.

  • Payment invite: a site admin-generated invitation to a user to pay for and take over ownership of a site. The invited user is not required to have an account yet.

  • Site deleted: a site admin-generated notification sent to all site team members when a site is deleted.

  • Workspace invite: a user-generated invitation to join a workspace. The invited user is not required to have an account yet.

The emails listed below are only received by users who have been assigned to the site admin role.

  • Site plan level change: a Pantheon-generated notification sent to all site admins and workspace admins when a site's plan is upgraded or downgraded.

  • Site added as supporting organization: a Pantheon-generated notification sent to all workspace admins when a site is added to an workspace as a supporting organization.

Autopilot Email Notifications

You can configure email notifications for Autopilot alerts and activity digests.

  1. Navigate to your Personal Workspace settings.

  2. Click Notifications and select which emails you want to receive in the Autopilot Email Notifications section:

    • Weekly Activity Digest: A weekly summary of Autopilot activity across all sites within the workspaces that have Autopilot enabled. Digests are sent each Monday with information about the previous seven days.

    • Failed Visual Regression Tests: Real-time email notifications for failed visual regression tests for a given site.

Switch Between Workspaces

If you're a member of multiple workspaces, you can stay logged in, and switch between workspaces to work on different projects.

To switch between workspaces, click your gravatar in the upper left to switch between workspaces:

Workspace switcher shows a personal and Agency workspace

Customize a Workspace

You can customize the following for a workspace:

  • The name and icon of the workspace.

  • Payment and terms of service information for Sites built in your workspace.

To customize a Professional Workspace, go to the workspace you wish to customize, then click the Settings tab.

Delete a Workspace

Workspaces cannot be deleted.

FAQ

How do we add new sites to a Professional Workspace?

Refer to Sites for more information.

Why do login attempts fail for all users across my workspace simultaneously?

Any large agency that has multiple developers who login frequently via username/password will trigger failed logins for everyone else who works on the site. This occurs despite everyone using the right password and even when one user logs in and out successfully 3 times.

As a workaround, we recommend following development best practice workflows by authenticating via SSH key for password-less access.

Why can't I access Multidev on my site when the Supporting Organization can use it?

Only workspace team members and administrators of a Supporting Organization with Multidev can use this feature. Site team members who are associated with the site but not the agency can access Multidev environments via the unique URL, will not be able to commit code to them.

Why can't my Agency workspace own a site?

Enterprise, Reseller, OEM, and EDU+ workspaces own sites. Registered Agencies, Pantheon Partners, Premier Pantheon Partners, Strategic Pantheon Partners, and EDU workspaces support sites. This is because an agency's role is to develop, service, and maintain a site on behalf of its owner. Read more about owning and supporting sites in Workspaces, Sites, and Teams.

Can I add my own Agency as a Supporting Organization to a client's site?

No. Only the owner of the site can add an agency as a Supporting Organization. This action grants all members of the workspace access to the site. You should ask site owners to add your agency as a Supporting Organization if you are providing services to the site.

What privileges and roles are granted when adding a Supporting Organization?

All members of the Supporting Organization receive the role assigned on the site, regardless of their role in the Supporting Organization.

Can the site owner override privileges and access for team members of a Supporting Organization?

Yes, but only for sites owned by Enterprise or EDU+ workspaces. Roles designated on the Site Team modal will override any roles assigned within the workspace.

As an Agency, how many sandbox sites do members of a workspace receive?

Each member of an workspace can create up to 10 Sandbox sites. When the limit of 10 is reached, take a site live or delete unused sites to free up additional Sandbox slots.