Manage Your Plans

Upgrade a free site to a paid plan or downgrade a site's current plan within the Site Dashboard.

Contributors: Jennifer Hoffman.

Discuss in our Forum Discuss in Slack

 Notes

  • Elite sites cannot manage plans from the Site Dashboard. Contact Sales or reach out to your dedicated Client Sales Executive for details.

  • The permission to manage a site's plan is granted only to the roles of Site Owner / Organization Administrator. Other roles do not have access to change the site plan as described on this page. Pantheon for EDU+ allows Organization Administrators to manage site plans for sites within their organization. When a site is associated with an EDU+ Organization, billing is managed through a contract with Pantheon, and only Organization Administrators can confirm a site plan change. For details, see Role-Based Permissions & Change Management.

  • If you need to assume site and billing ownership, the current Site Owner must transfer ownership to you directly.

Before You Make Changes

Consider the following changes to feature access before upgrading or downgrading the site's plan. Certain scenarios require code changes in order to safely change the site plan.

Disable Addons When Downgrading to Basic Plan

Object Cache (formerly Redis) and Pantheon Search are not available for Basic sites. These features must be disabled in order to select Basic as the new site plan when upgrading or downgrading plans.

To remove these addons:

Object Cache

  1. Uninstall the WP Redis plugin. Review Uninstall Plugins for detailed instructions.

  2. Delete the wp-content/object-cache.php file.

  3. Commit and deploy these changes to the Live environment.

  4. Go to Settings, select Add Ons, then click the Remove button for Redis.

  5. Go to the Site Dashboard, and click Clear Caches.

  1. Uninstall the Solr Search for WordPress plugin. Review the Uninstall Plugins section of Working in the WordPress Dashboard and Drupal Admin Interface for detailed instructions.

  2. Ensure the default search mechanism is functioning.

  3. Commit and deploy these changes to the Live environment.

  4. Go to Settings, click Add Ons, and then click Remove for Solr.

Object Cache

  1. Disable the Redis Object Cache module.

  2. Delete the Redis configuration from settings.php.

  3. Commit and deploy these changes to the Live environment.

  4. Go to Settings, select Add Ons, then click Remove for Redis.

  5. Go to the Site Dashboard, and click Clear Caches.

Pantheon Search

  1. Disable the Apache Solr Search,Search API Solr Search, and the Pantheon Apache Solr modules.

  2. Delete all schema configurations from settings.php.

  3. Commit and deploy these changes to the Live environment.

  4. Go to Settings, click Add Ons, and then click Remove for Solr.

Upgrades

Site plan upgrades will change your site's resources and access to features immediately. The associated card will be charged a prorated amount for the remainder of the current billing period.

If your site benefits from Preferred Pricing, contact your Supporting Organization for assistance in order to retain your special pricing rate.

Downgrades

Site plan downgrades will change your site's resources and access to features immediately. Beginning on the next billing cycle, the associated card will be charged for the new site plan. No prorated refunds or credits will be issued for site downgrades.

If your site benefits from Preferred Pricing, contact your Supporting Organization for assistance, in order to retain your special pricing rate.

Custom domains are not available to Sandbox sites. Downgrading to a Sandbox site will automatically delete existing custom domains across all environments of the site. If you decide to return to a paid plan in the future, you will need to add the domains again.

Downgrading to a Sandbox site will disable automatic backups. You will still be able to create backups manually. Refer to the Backups Tool for more information.

Downgrade Your Plan to Sandbox

To downgrade to Sandbox, see Cancel Current Plan.

Change Your Plan

 Warning

Before making any changes, please review Before You Make Changes.

To change your plan:

  1. Log in as an organization administrator.

  2. Go to the Site Dashboard, click Upgrade next to the site's name. Otherwise, click the current plan tag next to the site's name.

  3. Click Select below the plan you choose, and select the Plan Size if it's a Performance plan.

  4. Review the new plan on the Confirm Purchase page, and click Place Your Order.

Because billing is handled by the organization, the plan change is immediate, and you'll be returned to the Site Dashboard.

If the site plan isn't shown on the Dashboard immediately, refresh the page or click the Workflows button for status.

  1. Go to the Site Dashboard.

  2. For Sandbox sites, click Upgrade next to the site's name. Otherwise, click the current plan tag next to the site's name.

Cancel Your Plan

 Warning

Before making any changes, please review Before You Make Changes.

  1. Go to the Site Dashboard.

  2. Select the current plan (to the right of the site name).

  3. Click the Downgrade to free link to cancel the current plan.

  4. Check Yes, cancel my plan, then click Continue.

  5. Make sure the change details are correct, then click Submit.

  6. Remove the existing card as a payment method for the site. Refer to Billing in the Site Dashboard for more information.

Optionally, you can remove the Sandbox site after downgrading. Refer to Deleting a Site on Pantheon for more information.

 Note

For any site plan downgrades, no refunds or prorated credits will be issued as per our Terms of Service.